Letter from the “editor”

My Dear Student Bloggers,

this journey has been really amazing for me! When I accepted to do this project, I thought- I have seen blogs but I had no idea what was behind them. How they were created was completely a fog to me. So I began doing research and studying and studying and trying to understand “dashboard”, “posts”, “pages”, “widgets”, “plugins”, “block editor” and so on and so on… weekends and weekends researching and organising. Yes organising but what? Slowly the ideas through brainstorming came to mind. Group work, personal blog?? Why not- both!

And I finally found the right platform! Edublogs! What a great support! Then it came to thinking of content. I thought it would be great to not only have a place for group work- the class blog, but also to have you all work in your own personal blogs- to express your unique selves!

And what selves! You really surprised me. Every single one of you is special and has their unique way of expressing themselves starting from the beautiful themes you chose for each of your blogs and how you created your “mini-selves”, your Avatars.

Little by little you began to take your first steps in this new world. You began writing to your readers, about things that were lighter and easier to talk about but also more serious issues. Thank you for sharing and writing many wonderful things: the funny stories about fairy dresses, the heroes in books, and modern day heroes; our Juventus fan, the gymnastics athlete, feeling free riding a horse; gripping Netflix series that I have never watched ( but I will try to ) because they “make you feel Iike you’re inside the series” or movies with German titles; gossip and broken friendships, being strong and believing in yourself, not being able to make simple decisions because of anxiety, the touching personal stories 😒, anecdotes about pickpocketing. And then of course dreams, dreams of visiting New York, Norway, the U.S., England, Iceland, Disneyland or Romania, memorable trips with family, reunions with family, travels to places like Rome, Pisa, Venice, or just recommendations about our beautiful land with our archipelago of islands like pearls in the sea.

I read each and every post (and as “editor” made the necessary correctionsπŸ₯΅. (You really made me sweat at times, especially to publish the last posts! but you finally all did!) I hope that each of you learned something from this experience and that it has helped you in any way from improving your English, expressing yourself, learning something new about technology or just spending time with each other in a constructive way as a team.

With time I saw how this blog was growing and developing into something fantastic! Just think, we have had over 1,000 visits from Canada, the U.S., France, Australia and all over Italy! Now it’s time to take a different direction and begin something new. I am sure that some of you will continue to write in their own blog, while others will have an online record of something they will look back on after they have finished high school. Good luck to all of you!

Prof.ssa Antonella Aliberti

Please feel free to leave a comment 😊

One thought on “Letter from the “editor”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *